Where is Marilyn Monroe buried? | The Sun

MARILYN Monroe is one of Hollywood's most famous starlets.

The beloved star tragically died on August 4, 1962, at age 36.

Where is Marilyn Monroe buried?

Marilyn Monroe is buried at the Pierce Brothers Westwood Village Memorial Park & Mortuary in Los Angeles, California.

She lies in Crypt Number 24 at the Corridor of Memories.

A simple plaque reads "Marilyn Monroe, 1926 – 1962".

Westwood Village Memorial Park is a cemetery filled with famous entertainers.

The deceased include the likes of Hugh Hefner and Roy Orbison.

What happened to Marilyn Monroe?

Marilyn Monroe died from an overdose of barbiturates while at her home in Los Angeles.

She was discovered lying nude on her bed, face down, with a telephone in one hand.

Empty bottles of pills, prescribed to treat her depression, were littered around the room.

Most read in Celebrity


Love Island fans' horror as axed Olivia handed power to destroy TWO other stars


Harry & Meg break silence after being evicted from Frogmore Cottage by King


Frogmore eviction shows King's drawn a line with Harry


Strictly star bags life-changing EastEnders role as part of new family

After a brief investigation, police concluded that her death was “caused by a self-administered overdose of sedative drugs and that the mode of death is probable suicide.”

Although officially labelled an overdose, many conspiracy theorists believe the star was murdered.

Detectives investigated the possibility of her murder in 1982 but found no signs of foul play.

Who was Marilyn Monroe?

Born on June 1, 1926, Marilyn Monroe – real name Norma Jeane Mortenson – was an actress and model known for her role in the sexual revolution of the 1950s and 60s.

Known for her blonde locks and full figure, Marilyn appeared in over 30 films before her death in 1962.

In 1954, Marilyn founded her own production company after experiencing contract issues due to her typecast and sex symbolism.

She married three times in her life: to James Dougherty, from 1942 until 1946; to Joe DiMaggio, from 1954 through 1955; and to Arthur Miller, from 1956 until 1961.

Source: Read Full Article