Tesco issues urgent warning to Clubcard users – you could lose your points

Tesco has issued a warning to customers about changes to its Clubcard loyalty scheme.

The update is set to make shopper’s accounts safer and more secure online.

The supermarket giant is introducing more verification steps to make sure that customer’s accounts aren’t hacked.

Plus, it will make it easier and quicker for customers to access their accounts.

So what has changed?

Well, you’ll no longer have to plug in your full card number to verify your account when logging in online.

What's your favourite way to save money on your food shopping? Let us know in the comments section…

You can use a passcode that is sent to your phone instead.

The one-time passcode can only be used within a certain timeframe.

To allow this method to work customers need to make sure that the phone number on their account is the correct one or you won’t be able to get the code.

Tesco is warning customers to double check their details or customers could be locked out of their accounts.

If you’re locked out, you may lose the account and all of the points you have accumulated.

In an email to Clubcard holders, Tesco said: “We know that your Clubcard number is hard to remember, and we’re always looking for ways to best protect your account.

“So we’re adding a safe and easy way to authenticate your account with a one-time passcode sent to your mobile number.

"To make sure you can always access your Tesco account, please ensure your mobile number is up to date.”

It continued: “Just head to the personal details page to check it.

"Remember to have your Clubcard to hand – while we’re moving to the new authentication system, you’ll need it to make any changes.

“Don’t worry, nothing else is changing with your account – your preferences won’t change, and your data will remain secure.

"Thanks for helping us keep your Tesco account safe."

To change your details, you should go to the personal details page on your account.

  • Daily Star's lockdown sex survey: We want to know about your relationships!

You can edit the information there.

If you don’t want to change to the passcode log-in then you don’t have to sign up for it.

A Tesco spokesperson said: “We are always looking to make shopping with us easier for our customers.

“We’ve added a new way for customers to confirm their identity when logging into secure areas of their account by using a passcode sent to their mobile phone.

"This is optional and customers can continue to use their Clubcard number if they prefer.

“Customers’ accounts will not change and they will not lose any Clubcard points or vouchers.”

Source: Read Full Article