‘Pachinko’ Wins Ensemble Cast Award as Independent Spirit TV Nominations Are Announced

 Film Independent has revealed the television nominations for the 2023 Film Independent Spirit Awards, which this year have gone gender-neutral, just like its film colleagues. As announced by Asia Kate Dillon (“Billions“), the annoncement included a winner: Apple TV+’s “Pachinko” won forbest new ensemble cast, including Soji Arai, Jin Ha, Inji Jeong, Minha Kim, Kaho Minami, Lee Minho, Steve Sanghyun Noh, Anna Sawai, Jimmi Simpson, Yuh-jung Youn 

“As the television landscape continues to evolve, and independent artists expand the idea of how stories can be told, we’re proud to be changing with them,” said Josh Welsh, president of Film Independent. “With our new categories and gender-neutral acting awards, we hope to better reflect the diversity of incredible work being created by these talented artists.”

With the categories going gender neutral, the Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series award was expanded to 10 nominees and a Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series award has been added to honor performances outside of the leading roles.    

The 38th Film Independent Spirit Awards will take place on Saturday, March 4, 2023 in-person on the beach in Santa Monica. With no TV outlet this year, the Independent Spirits will instead be streamed internationally across multiple online and digital platforms.

Here are the nominees:


“The Bear “ (FX)

Creator/Executive Producer: Christopher Storer 

Executive Producers: Joanna Calo, Josh Senior, Hiro Murai, Nate Matteson 

Co-Executive Producer: Rene Gube 

“Pachinko “ (Apple TV+)

Creator/Executive Producer: Soo Hugh 

Executive Producers: Michael Ellenberg, Lindsey Springer, Theresa Kang-Lowe, Richard Middleton, Justin Chon, Kogonada 

Co-Executive Producers: Dani Gorin, Sebastian Lee, David Kim, Ethan Kuperberg 

“The Porter” (CBC)

Creators/Executive Producers: Marsha Greene, Annmarie Morais, Arnold Pinnock 

Creator/Co-Executive Producer: Bruce Ramsay 

Creator: Aubrey Nealon 

Executive Producers: Ian Dimerman, Jennifer Kawaja, Charles Officer, R.T. Thorne, Aml Ameen, Bruno Dubé, Alfre Woodard, Rose Catherine Pinkney, Devin Griffin 

Co-Executive Producers: Elise Cousineau, Andrea Glinski, Steve Cochrane, Daphne Park 

“Severance” (Apple TV+) 

Creator/Executive Producer: Dan Erickson 

Executive Producers: Ben Stiller, Nicholas Weinstock, Jackie Cohn, Mark Friedman, Andrew Colville, Chris Black, John Cameron 

Co-Executive Producers: Jill Footlick, Kari Drake 

“Station Eleven” (HBO Max) 

Creator/Executive Producer: Patrick Somerville 

Executive Producers: Jessica Rhoades, Scott Steindorff, Dylan Russell, Scott Delman, Jeremy Podeswa, Hiro Murai, Nate Matteson 

Co-Executive Producers: David Nicksay, Nick Cuse 

(LAST YEAR’S WINNER: “Reservation Dogs,” FX)


Aml Ameen 

The Porter 

Mohammed Amer 


Quinta Brunson 

Abbott Elementary 

Bridget Everett 

Somebody Somewhere 


Rap Sh!t 

Melanie Lynskey 


Himesh Patel 

Station Eleven 

Sue Ann Pien 

As We See It 

Adam Scott 


Ben Whishaw 

This is Going to Hurt 

(LAST YEAR’S WINNERS: Thuso Mbedu, “The Underground Railroad”  and Lee Jung-jae, “Squid Game”)


Danielle Deadwyler 

Station Eleven   

Ayo Edibiri 

The Bear 

Jeff Hiller 

Somebody Somewhere 

Gbemisola Ikumelo 

A League of Their Own 

Janelle James 

Abbott Elementary 

Ebon Moss-Bachrach 

The Bear 

Frankie Quiñones 

This Fool 

Sheryl Lee Ralph 

Abbott Elementary 

Molly Shannon 

I Love That For You 

Tramell Tillman 



(Award given to the Creator, Executive Producer, Co-Executive Producer) 

Children of the Underground 

Executive Producers: Dan Cogan, Liz Garbus, Jon Bardin, Ted Gesing, Gabriela Cowperthwaite, Kate Barry 

Co-Executive Producer: Julie Gaither 

Mind Over Murder 

Executive Producers: Marc Smerling, Nanfu Wang, Max Heckman, Chad Mumm, Mark W. Olsen, Nancy Abraham, Lisa Heller, Sara Rodriguez 

Pepsi, Where’s My Jet? 

Executive Producers: Nick Boak, Andrew Renzi, Andrew D. Corkin, Theo James, Andrew Fried, Jordan Wynn, Dane Lillegard, Sarina Roma 

Co-Executive Producer: Jeremiah Murphy 

The Rehearsal 

Creator/Executive Producer: Nathan Fielder 

Executive Producers: Dave Paige, Dan McManus, Christie Smith 

Co-Executive Producers: Carrie Kemper, Eric Notarnicola 

We Need to Talk About Cosby 

Executive Producers: W. Kamau Bell, Andrew Fried, Katie A. King, Vinnie Malhotra, Dane Lillegard, Sarina Roma, Jordan Wynn 

Co-Executive Producer: Geraldine L. Porras 

(LAST YEAR’S WINNER: “Black and Missing”)

Read More About:

Source: Read Full Article